Alternative ways to see in the New Year

I don’t know about you, but my usual New Years Eve tradition is to get really quite drunk at a party with either family or friends, or some combination of both, and then to have an absolutely shocking hangover the next day. I don’t necessarily think there is anything wrong with this but as I’ve grown older the New Year has taken on a bit of a different meaning to me, and I’ve developed some new ways of acknowledging and appreciating that it’s the start of another year. I find now and over the last few years that I’ve become more inclined to use the New Year as an opportunity to pause, look back at what I have achieved and learned over the last year, and to think about and plan how to achieve my goals for the year ahead. I think I always did some variation of this in my twenties but I’ve noticed that I take it a lot more seriously now I am in my thirties. I feel my time is precious and I want to make the most of it.

I’ve put together a list below of some alternative, and potentially productive ideas, for how to end the year. There are a lot of suggestions here so you may find you want to just pick out one or two or go ahead and do them all. I hope you find something you enjoy.

  1. Have a tarot reading! I personally do tarot readings at the drop of a hat! It is more exciting however to do them on special occasions and dates. If you don’t know how to do your own tarot reading you could ask a friend to do one for you or book an appointment to see a professional. Regardless of whether you wholeheartedly believe in tarot or not, the cards that come up in your reading can still serve as prompts to get you thinking about what you want and don’t want to happen for you in 2016.
  2. Check out your astrology for next year. As with tarot, whether you believe in astrology or not, reading a good astrology forecast can still provoke thought around future goals, offer advice and lead to insights.
  3. Think about how you want to feel in 2016. In The Desire Map, which is a book by Danielle Laporte, she argues that any goal setting activities should start with us thinking about the key feelings we want to have first of all, followed by planning what we will do in each area of our lives in order to access those feelings.
  4. Think about where you want to be next New Years Eve. Who are you with? What is the location? What can you see? What can you hear? I always do this exercise. It doesn’t usually come true! I still think it is useful though for helping me to clarify what I’m working towards.
  5. Make a list of at least 10 things you want to happen in your life over the following year. Store your list away until the end of the year so you can go back and tick off what you managed to achieve and/ or see how your priorities have changed.
  6. Create a piece of artwork which represents how you want your year to be (whether it’s a poem, painting, short story, it doesn’t matter what form you use). There are countless books and resources out there that highlight that the better you are at visualizing a dream, the more likely it is to happen.
  7. Do a vision board for the same reason.
  8. Cast a spell. This may be going outside some people’s comfort zones! I find that performing a little ritual can be very powerful on significant days. For me this usually consists of lighting some incense and a candle, having a glass of wine and reading out some writing about a personal goal or an affirmation. You can do whatever feels right for you. Again there are a lot of books and resources available out there if this is something you really want to explore in more depth.
  9. Watch a movie, read a book and/ or listen to music which ties in with your aspirations. It will help you start off the year on the right foot in relation to whatever your personal hopes are.
  10. Meditate. It’s very easy to access meditations for free online or on phone applications. Find a meditation that fits with the state of mind you wish to achieve.
  11. Buy a new journal to help you keep track of your thoughts and feelings throughout the year. Journals are well-known for assisting self-awareness and self-care. You can also keep track of your goals and progress in there.

Do you have any other ideas you didn’t find on the list? Did you find it inspiring? Feel free to add further suggestions in the comments section below this blog. Wishing you a great Christmas and a happy New Year!

 

 

Join my Facebook page on social issues and self-care:

http://www.facebook.com/amixedracefeministspeaks

Twitter: @kenixie

 

Leave a Reply

